Skip to main content

UK Air Force ROTC to Commission 15 Students

By Richard LeComte

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The University of Kentucky’s Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps Detachment 290 commissioned 15 students May 13 in the Gatton Student Center Ballroom. The detachment is part of UK’s College of Arts & Sciences. Photos of the event can be found here

“Our mission is to develop exceptional leaders of character for tomorrow's Air and Space Force,” said Lt. Col. Richard K. Harrop, commander of the UK detachment. “At the University of Kentucky, Detachment 290 it is important we develop stronger leaders for tomorrow while strengthening our bonds through teamwork and camaraderie. This commissioning class of second lieutenants will drive future innovations, strengthen alliances, and lead the world's most powerful teams. 

The students to be commissioned with their positions and hometowns are:  

1. Joshua Cassem; Pilot, Englewood, Tennessee.

2. Emilee Conn: Air Battle Manager, Alpha, Kentucky.

3. Joshua Douthit: Logistics Readiness, Spring, Texas.

4.Noah Falcon: Force Support, Olathe, Kansas.

5. James Hood: Cyber Lexington, Kentucky.

6. Zachary Johns-: Intel, Lexington, Kentucky

7. Theresa Martin:  Civil Engineer Moseley, Virginia.

8. Jonathan Moore: Computer Engineer, Nicholasville, Kentucky.

9. Anthony Niedzielski: Finance Lexington, Kentucky.

10. Ashley Nguyen: Air Battle Manager Lexington, Kentucky.

11. Jacqulyn Noffsinger: Air Battle Manager, Bremen, Kentucky.

12. Daniel Orcutt:Special Tactics Officer. Tulsa, Oklahoma.

13. Isaac Rogers: Pilot, Harrodsburg, Kentucky.

14. Ian Sexton: Cyber. Lexington, Kentucky.

15. Jackson Yates: Nuclear and Missile Ops, Gilbertsville, Kentucky.

16. Bailey Ziman: Information Ops Aurora, Illinois.